MAKKABI germany WInterGames 2023

The first MAKKABI Germany WinterGames 2023 at a glance

02.01. - 09.01.2023
Up to 350 participants

competition schedules

Winter has never been so Maccabi!

The MAKKABI Germany WinterGames will go down in history. With over 400 participants from 20 countries on 5 continents - including Ukraine, Israel, USA and Australia - MAKKABI Germany organized the Maccabi Winter Games in Ruhpolding / Bavaria from January 02nd to 09th, 2023 - the first MAKKABI winter sports competitions since 1936 On Sunday, January 08th, 2023, the historic event ended with a festive ceremony including award ceremonies. The most successful delegations were Germany (1st place, a total of 14 gold medals), Israel (2nd place, 12) and the Czech Republic (3rd place, a total of 13 gold medals).

"After a break of 87 years, we have set a milestone in the history of sport,” says Alfi Goldenberg, Chairman of the Organizing Committee and initiator of the WinterGames. “MAKKABI sent a powerful signal for Jewish identity and culture. We brought Jewish winter sports back to the heart of Europe. The MAKKABI WinterGames 2023 laid the foundation for more winter Maccabiot in the years to come.”

A milestone in sports history was set with the MAKKABI Germany Winter Games, a positive signal for Jewish sports as well as for the dynamic Jewish life in Germany and beyond. The last Jewish Winter Games took place in Poland in 1933 and in what was then Czechoslovakia in 1936 before they were banned by the National Socialists and then fell into oblivion within the global Maccabi movement. With the MAKKABI Germany WinterGames 2023, a tradition was revived with a signal effect far beyond the borders of Makkabi.

At the grand opening ceremony on January 2nd, Dr. Josef Schuster (President of the Central Council of Jews in Germany), Dr. Charlotte Knobloch (President of the Jewish Community in Munich and Upper Bavaria), Mahmut Özdemir (Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of the Interior and Homeland, Justus Pfeifer (Mayor of the Ruhpolding Municipality) and Carmela Shamir (Consul General of the State of Israel in Munich) inspiring words of welcome. MAKKABI Germany President Alon Meyer greeted the representatives from sport, society, politics and culture who were present. MAKKABI Germany Vice-President Alfi Goldenberg, spiritus rectus behind the WinterGames, gave an emotional opening speech that gripped all spectators Spectators who had traveled a long way were joined by athletes from the numerous Maccabi delegations, and the Maccabi fire was lit as part of this spectacular celebration. 

The participants competed in alpine skiing, cross-country skiing, laser biathlon, snowboarding, figure skating, snow volleyball and curling. A particular highlight was the snow volleyball competition at an altitude of 2.000 meters with the finals between Israel and Ukraine. But Maccabi is more than just sport: We made it possible for Maccabi athletes from all over the world to meet, and the special Maccabi spirit was palpable at all times.

A special moment for all participants was certainly the big Kabbalat Shabbat (beginning of the Jewish day of rest on Friday evening), also with many guests and numerous non-Jewish participants. Musically framed by the a cappella band KippaLive from Israel, there was a very special atmosphere up to the Havdallah (end of the rest day) on Saturday evening.

In addition, there was a diverse educational and supporting program. For example, Prof. Manfred Lämmer (German Sports University Cologne) and the Holocaust and Olympic assassination survivor Prof. Shaul Ladany (Israel) gave lectures on the history and present of the Maccabi movement and the 1972 Olympic assassination in Munich, which also included a exhibition presented throughout the week as well as a virtual reality offer from Bayerischer Rundfunk. This and other events were organized and carried out by the Central Council of Jews and the educational project “Together1” 

The Winter Games once again showed how open Maccabi is – all Maccabees could take part, regardless of religion or origin. "We are certain that the MAKKABI Germany WinterGames 2023 is the start of a long-lasting tradition, which, like the Maccabiah in Israel, is regularly held all over the world," says Makkabi Germany. During the Winter Games, the US Maccabi Association announced that it intends to host the next MAKKABI Winter Games in Sun Valley, Idaho.

Participating delegations

Australia

Maccabi Australia

Austria

Maccabi Australia

Germany

MACKABI Germany

  • Alpine skiing
  • Snowboarding
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • Biathlon
  • Figure Skating
  • Icestockschiessen
  • Snow Volleyball
Estonia

Maccabi Estonia

Finland

Maccabi Finland

France

Maccabi France

Great Britain

Maccabi Great Britain

The Netherlands


Maccabi Great Britain

Israel


Maccabi Israel

Italy


Maccabi Italy

Lithuania

Maccabi Canada

Mexico

Maccabi Mexico

Switzerland


Maccabi Switzerland

Slovakia


Maccabi Slovakia

Ukraine


Maccabi Ukraine

Hungary

Maccabi Hungary

USA

Maccabi USA

Czech Republic


Maccabi Czech Republic

Patron

Dr. Joseph Schuster

President of the Central Council of Jews in Germany

I wish the athletes much success in the competitions and much joy in the great events surrounding the Maccabi WinterGames. For the guests and all of us, I hope for peaceful, happy and successful games. Maccabi Chai!

Board of Trustees

MDWG Photo Aigner

Ilse Aigner

President of the Bavarian State Parliament


But Maccabi - that was and is always more than a sports club. It is a feeling and an attitude. Fairness, tolerance, mutual respect, openness to the world, community spirit across generations and religions - that is Maccabi.

I wish all participants and the whole Maccabi family light-hearted games, much success and all the best!

©Daniel Schvarcz_IKG_20211209_527

Dr. Charlotte Knobloch

President of the Jewish Community in Munich and Upper Bavaria

The MAKKABI Germany WinterGames will take place in Ruhpolding in January 2023 with a planned 350 participants from Germany, Europe and beyond. For many years, the association has shown that sport can make an essential contribution to a successful democratic society and is vehemently committed to combating and avoiding anti-Semitism and exclusion of any kind.

1f171268-3010-4c03-854d-977ce3b6f2be

Carmela Shamir

Israeli Consul General for Southern Germany

It is both an honor and a pleasure for me to support the MAKKABI Germany WinterGames 2023 as a member of the Board of Trustees. As Consul General of the State of Israel for Southern Germany, I am particularly pleased that the games will be held in Bavaria.

My wish for these historic Winter Games is that sport and team spirit connect people across cultures and bring them together.

JWhistler

Justus Pfeifer

First Mayor
of Ruhpolding municipality

It is a special pleasure for Ruhpolding to be the host. The MAKKABI Germany WinterGames 2023 offer an ideal setting to enable and intensify social interaction with the Jewish community, the international participants and the people of Ruhpolding. enable and intensify.

I am looking forward to exciting competitions and wish all athletes every success!

MAKKABI deutschland WInterGames 2023

Die ersten MAKKABI Deutschland WinterGames 2023 im Überblick

02.01. - 09.01.2023
Bis zu 350 Teilnehmer:innen

Wettkampfpläne

Noch nie war der Winter so Makkabi!

Die MAKKABI Deutschland WinterGames werden in die Geschichte eingehen. Mit über 400 Teilnehmenden aus 20 Ländern von 5 Kontinenten – darunter die Ukraine, Israel, USA und Australien – richtete MAKKABI Deutschland vom 02. – 09. Januar 2023 die Makkabi-Winterspiele in Ruhpolding / Bayern aus – die ersten MAKKABI Wintersportwettkämpfe seit 1936. Am Sonntag, 08. Januar 2023, endete das historische Event mit einer feierlichen Zeremonie samt Siegerehrungen. Die erfolgreichsten Delegationen waren Deutschland (1. Platz, insgesamt 14 Goldmedaillen), Israel (2. Platz 12) und die Tschechische Republik  (3. Platz, insgesamt 13 Goldmedaillen).

Nach 87 Jahren Unterbrechung haben wir einen sporthistorischen Meilenstein gesetzt“, sagt Alfi Goldenberg, Vorsitzender des Organisationskomitees und Initiator der WinterGames. „MAKKABI hat ein kraftvolles Signal für die jüdische Identität und Kultur gesetzt. Wir haben den jüdischen Wintersport wieder in die Mitte Europas gebracht. Die MAKKABI WinterGames 2023 legten den Grundstein für weitere Winter-Makkabiot in den kommenden Jahren.”

Mit den MAKKABI Deutschland WinterGames wurde ein sportgeschichtlicher Meilenstein gesetzt, ein positives Signal für den jüdischen Sport wie auch für das dynamische jüdische Leben in Deutschland und darüber hinaus. Zuletzt fanden jüdische Winterspiele 1933 in Polen und 1936 in der damaligen Tschechoslowakei statt, bevor sie von den Nationalsozialisten verboten wurden und dann auch innerhalb der weltweiten Makkabi-Bewegung in Vergessenheit gerieten. Mit den MAKKABI Deutschland WinterGames 2023 wurde eine Tradition wiederbelebt mit Signalwirkung weit über die Grenzen von Makkabi hinaus.

Bei der großen Eröffnungsfeier am 2. Januar hielten Dr. Josef Schuster (Präsident des Zentralrats der Juden in Deutschland), Dr. Charlotte Knobloch (Präsidentin der Israelitischen Kultusgemeinde München und Oberbayern), Mahmut Özdemir (Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär beim Bundesministerium des Innern und für Heimat, Justus Pfeifer (Erster Bürgermeister der Gemeinde Ruhpolding) und Carmela Shamir (Generalkonsulin des Staates Israel in München) inspirierende Grußworte. MAKKABI Deutschland Präsident Alon Meyer grüßte die anwesenden Vertreter aus Sport, Gesellschaft, Politik und Kultur. MAKKABI Deutschland Vizepräsident Alfi Goldenberg, Spiritus Rectus hinter den WinterGames, hielt eine emotionale und alle Zuschauer mitreißende Eröffnungsrede. Unter großem Applaus der Makkabäer*innen und der lokalen sowie teilweise von weit her angereisten Zuschauer liefen die Sportler*innen der zahlreichen Makkabi-Delegationen ein. Zudem wurde im Rahmen dieser spektakulären Feier das Makkabi-Feuer entzündet. 

In den Sportarten Alpin Ski, Skilanglauf, Laser-Biathlon, Snowboard, Eiskunstlauf, Snow-Volleyball und Eisstockschießen gingen die Teilnehmenden in einen sportlichen Wettkampf. Ein besonderes Highlight waren die Wettkämpfe im Snow-Volleyball in 2.000 Metern Höhe mit den Finals zwischen Israel und der Ukraine. Doch Makkabi ist noch mehr als nur Sport: Wir haben Begegnungen von Makkabi-Sportler*innen aus der ganzen Welt ermöglicht, der besondere Makkabi-Spirit war zu jeder Zeit spürbar.

Ein für alle Teilnehmenden besonderer Moment war sicher der große Kabbalat Shabbat (Beginn des jüdischen Ruhetages am Freitagabend), ebenfalls mit vielen Gästen und zahlreichen nicht-jüdischen Teilnehmenden. Musikalisch umrahmt von der A Capella-Band KippaLive aus Israel herrschte bis hin zur Havdallah (Ausgang des Ruhetages) am Samstagabend eine ganz besondere Atmosphäre.

Darüber hinaus gab es ein vielfältiges Bildungs- und Rahmenprogramm. So hielten beispielsweise Prof. Manfred Lämmer (Deutsche Sporthochschule Köln) und der Holocaust- und Olympiaattentatüberlebende Prof. Shaul Ladany (Israel) Vorträge über die Geschichte und Gegenwart der Makkabi-Bewegung sowie das Olympia-Attentat 1972 in München, welches ebenfalls in einer über die ganze Woche präsentierten Ausstellung sowie einem virtual reality-Angebot des Bayerischen Rundfunks aufgegriffen wurde. Organisiert und durchgeführt wurde diese und weitere Veranstaltungen vom Zentralrat der Juden und dem Bildungsprojekt „Zusammen1“ 

Mit den WinterGames wurde erneut gezeigt, wie offen Makkabi ist – teilnehmen konnten alle Makkabäer*innen, unabhängig von Religion und Herkunft. „Wir sind uns sicher, dass die MAKKABI Deutschland WinterGames 2023 der Start einer lang anhaltenden Tradition ist, die ebenso wie die Maccabiah in Israel regelmäßig auf der ganzen Welt ausgetragen werden“, heißt es bei Makkabi Deutschland. Bereits während der WinterGames hat der US-amerikanische Makkabi Verband verkündet, die nächsten MAKKABI WinterGames in Sun Valley, Idaho, ausrichten zu wollen.

Teilnehmende Delegationen

Australien

Maccabi Australien

Österreich

Maccabi Australien

Deutschland

MAKKABI Deutschland

  • Alpin Ski
  • Snowboard
  • Skilanglauf
  • Biathlon
  • Eiskunstlauf
  • Eisstockschießen
  • Snow-Volleyball
Estland

Maccabi Estland

Finnland

Maccabi Finnland

Frankreich

Maccabi Frankreich

Großbritannien

Maccabi Großbritannien

Niederlande


Maccabi Niederlande

Israel


Maccabi Israel

Italien


Maccabi Italien

Litauen

Maccabi Kanada

Mexiko

Maccabi Mexiko

Schweiz


Maccabi Schweiz

Slowakei


Maccabi Slowakei

Ukraine


Maccabi Ukraine

Ungarn

Maccabi Ungarn

USA

Maccabi USA

Tschechien


Maccabi Tschechien

Schirmherr

Dr. Josef Schuster

Präsident Zentralrat der Juden in Deutschland

Den Sportlerinnen und Sportlern wünsche ich viel Erfolg bei den Wettkämpfen sowie viel Freude an den tollen Veranstaltungen rund um die Makkabi WinterGames. Für die Gäste und uns alle hoffe ich auf friedliche, fröhliche und erfolgreiche Spiele. Makkabi Chai!

Kuratorium

MDWG Foto Aigner

Ilse Aigner

Präsidentin Bayerischer Landtag


Aber Makkabi – das war und ist immer mehr als ein Sportverein. Das ist ein Gefühl und das ist eine Haltung. Fairness, Toleranz, gegenseitiger Respekt, Weltoffenheit, generations- und religionsübergreifende Gemeinschaftlichkeit – das ist Makkabi.

Ich wünsche allen Teilnehmenden und der ganzen Makkabi-Familie unbeschwerte Spiele, viel Erfolg und alles Gute!

©DanielSchvarcz_IKG_20211209_527

Dr. Charlotte Knobloch

Präsidentin Israelitische Kultusgemeinde München und Oberbayern

Die MAKKABI Deutschland WinterGames werden im Januar 2023 in Ruhpolding mit geplanten 350 Teilnehmenden aus Deutschland, Europa und darüber hinaus stattfinden. Der Verband zeigt seit vielen Jahren, dass der Sport einen essentiellen Beitrag für eine gelingende demokratische Gesellschaft leisten kann und engagiert sich vehement für die Bekämpfung und Vermeidung von Antisemitismus und Ausgrenzung jeglicher Art.

1f171268-3010-4c03-854d-977ce3b6f2be

Carmela Shamir

Israelische Generalkonsulin für Süddeutschland

Es ist mir gleichermaßen eine Ehre wie auch eine Freude die MAKKABI Deutschland Winter Games 2023 als Kuratoriumsmitglied zu unterstützen. Als Generalkonsulin des Staates Israel für Süddeutschland freut mich insbesondere die Tatsache, dass die Spiele in Bayern ausgetragen werden.

Ich wünsche mir für diese historischen Winterspiele, dass Sport und Teamgeist die Menschen kulturübergreifend verbindet und zusammenbringt.

JPfeifer

Justus Pfeifer

Erster Bürgermeister
Gemeinde Ruhpolding

Für Ruhpolding ist es eine besondere Freude, Gastgeber zu sein. Die MAKKABI Deutschland WinterGames 2023 bieten einen idealen Rahmen, um das gesellschaftliche Miteinander mit der jüdischen Gemeinschaft, den internationalen Teilnehmern und den Ruhpoldingern zu ermöglichen und zu intensivieren.

Ich freue mich auf spannende Wettkämpfe und wünsche allen Sportlerinnen und Sportlern viel Erfolg!