Unfortunately, there are currently technical problems with our registrations. We are already working on a solution.

Unfortunately, there are currently technical problems with our registrations. We are already working on a solution.

Unfortunately, there are currently technical problems with our registrations. We are already working on a solution.

What is Maccabi?

The story of Maccabi and MAKKABI Germany

The history of Jewish gymnastics and sports clubs in Germany goes back to the end of the 19th century. In 1898 the first Jewish gymnastics and sports club Bar Kochba was founded in Berlin. The designation Maccabi for a Jewish gymnastics and sports club in Germany appeared for the first time in 1923 when FC Maccabi Düsseldorf was first founded. The former sports student Mr. Max Loewy led the first local club to the second Maccabiah, until it was dissolved in 1939.

Before the Nazis seized power, there were around 90 Jewish sports clubs throughout Germany.

The reopening of individual Maccabi clubs in Europe after the Shoah was followed in 1961 by the reestablishment of TuS Maccabi Düsseldorf (formerly SC). In the years that followed, I established other local groups in Frankfurt and Munich. A few days after Germany and Israel established diplomatic relations in 1965, the Jewish sports movement in Germany celebrated its re-establishment on May 23, 1965 in Düsseldorf. Mr. Werner Nachmann from Karlsruhe was then appointed President. In 1966 there were already eight clubs with 1.000 members. For the first time in three decades, Jewish athletes from Germany again took part in the Maccabiah in 1969/70.

Milestones:

1898
The philosophy student Wilhelm Lewy from Berlin founded the first Jewish gymnastics club with some former classmates. They name it after the legendary leader of the Jewish rebellion against the Roman conquerors: Bar Kochba.

1903
Eleven Jewish gymnastics clubs responded to Bar Kochba's call to unite to form an umbrella organization. They found the Jewish Gymnastics Association based in Berlin, which represents around 2000 women and men from all over Europe.

1919
From then on, the German part of the Jewish Gymnastics Association referred to itself as the German Makkabi Circle.

1921
Representatives from nine countries found the Maccabi World Association based in Berlin in Karlsbad, Czech Republic, under German leadership (Dr. Heinrich Kuhn).

1924
Unsuccessful contact with the International Olympic Committee in order to be able to take part in the Olympic Games with a Jewish team in the future. The Maccabi emblem, shown for the first time, signals the togetherness of the Jewish gymnasts and athletes. At the Olympic Games in Paris, Elias Katz from Maccabi Turku (in Finland) wins a gold medal and later also becomes a member of Bar Kochba Berlin.

1933
With Hitler's "seizure of power" begins the darkest chapter of German history, which culminates in the Holocaust. German Jews are excluded from non-Jewish sports clubs. The headquarters of the Maccabi World Organization must be moved to London.

1935
2 athletes from 1350 countries take part in the 28nd Maccabiah in Tel Aviv. Despite Nazi terror, the numerically strongest team travels from Germany to "Erez Israel". Many of them take the opportunity to flee and remain in Tel-Aviv despite strict controls by the English mandated power.

1936
The National Socialists prevent the Jewish high jumper Gretel Bergmann from participating in the Olympics, who had broken the German record four weeks before the Games in Berlin with 1,60 m. In 2012, 98-year-old Margaret Lambert-Bergmann was inducted into the German Sports Hall of Fame.

1938
With the so-called Reichsprogromnacht, the Jewish sports movement in Germany is temporarily wiped out. Six million Jews, including numerous talented athletes, fall victim to the Nazi racial fanaticism.

1945 – 1951
A large number of Shoah survivors find temporary homes in the American and French zones of occupation. The desire and need for physical exercise, a "liberation from the concentration camp psychosis", prompted established maccabins such as Maximilian Landau, B. Friedman, H. Rosenholz and S. Shapiro to found sports clubs, which operated under the banner "Mercas HaSport “ merge under the direction of Maximilian Landau and develop a lively activity, especially in the American zone.

1961
Almost 20 years after the Shoah, TuS Maccabi Düsseldorf (formerly SC) is founded again. Other local clubs in Frankfurt and Munich will follow.

1965
Establishment of diplomatic relations between Israel and the Federal Republic of Germany. Foundation of a Jewish sports association under the name "Makkabi - Jewish Gymnastics and Sports Association in Germany eV" in Düsseldorf.

1969
For the first time in 34 years, a German team took part in the Maccabiad in Israel.

1972
Palestinian terrorist attack on the Israeli team in the Munich Olympic Village. A failed rescue attempt costs the lives of eleven Israeli athletes and a German policeman. 60.000 people commemorate the victims at a funeral service in the Olympic Stadium.

1982
The EMC Congress will be held in Düsseldorf, Germany.

2015
From July 27th to August 05th, 2015, MD was extremely proud to host the 14th European Maccabi Games (EMG) in Berlin. The EMG took place in Germany for the first time - exactly 70 years after the end of the Shoah. As the organizer, MD also celebrated its 2015th anniversary in 50 since it was re-established after the war. The EMG took place in the very place where German Jews were forbidden to take part in the 1936 Olympic Games - in the Berlin Olympic Park. More than 2.000 athletes, trainers and supervisors from 30 European countries, EU partner countries and all over the world flocked to the Olympic Park grounds of the capital not only to crown their sporting successes with precious metals, but also to create friendships through competition in competition - friendship that goes far beyond national borders and has endured to this day (Friedländer, memorial ceremony. Speech by Margot Friedländer, 2017).

de German
X

Was ist Makkabi?

Die Geschichte von Maccabi und MAKKABI Deutschland

Die Geschichte der jüdischen Turn- und Sportvereine in Deutschland reicht bis ans Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts zurück. 1898 wurde in Berlin der erste Jüdische Turn- und Sportverein Bar Kochba gegründet. Die Bezeichnung Makkabi für einen Jüdischen Turn- und Sportverein in Deutschland erschien 1923 das erste Mal bei der Erstgründung vom FC Maccabi Düsseldorf. Den ersten Ortsverein führte der ehemalige Sportstudent Herr Max Loewy bis zur zweiten Maccabiah, bis er 1939 aufgelöst wurde.

Bis zur Machtergreifung der Nazis gab es etwa 90 Jüdische Sportvereine in ganz Deutschland.

Auf die Wiedereröffnung einzelner Makkabi-Vereine in Europa nach der Schoah, folgte 1961 ebenfalls die Wiedergründung des TuS Maccabi Düsseldorf (ehemals SC). Weitere Ortsvereine in Frankfurt und München etablierten ich in den Folgejahren. Wenige Tage nachdem Deutschland und Israel 1965 diplomatische Beziehungen aufgenommen hatten feierte die jüdische Sportbewegung in Deutschland am 23. Mai 1965 in Düsseldorf ihre Neugründung. Zum Präsidenten wurde damals Herr Werner Nachmann aus Karlsruhe ernannt. 1966 gab es bereits acht Vereine mit 1.000 Mitgliedern. Zum ersten Mal nach drei Jahrzehnten nahmen 1969/70 jüdische SportlerInnen aus Deutschland wieder an der Maccabiah teil.

Meilensteine:

1898
Der Philosophiestudent Wilhelm Lewy aus Berlin ruft mit einigen ehemaligen Mitschülern den ersten Jüdischen Turnverein ins Leben. Sie benennen ihm nach dem  legendären Anführers des jüdischen Aufstands gegen die römischen Eroberer: Bar Kochba.

1903
Elf jüdische Turnvereine folgten dem Aufruf von „Bar Kochba“, sich zu einem Dachverband zu vereinigen. Sie gründen die Jüdische Turnerschaft mit Sitz in Berlin, die rund 2000 Frauen und Männer aus ganz Europa repräsentiert.

1919
Der deutsche Teil der Jüdischen Turnerschaft bezeichnet sich fortan als Deutscher Makkabi Kreis.

1921
Vertreter  aus neun Ländern  gründen  im  tschechischen  Karlsbad  unter deutscher Führung  (Dr. Heinrich Kuhn) den Makkabi-Weltverband mit Sitz in Berlin.

1924
Erfolglose Kontaktaufnahme mit dem Internationalen Olympischen Komitee, um mit einer jüdischen Mannschaft zukünftig an den Olympischen Spielen teilnehmen zu können. Das erstmals gezeigte Makkabi-Emblem signalisiert die Zusammengehörigkeit der jüdischen Turner und Sportler. Bei den Olympischen Spielen in Paris gewinnt Elias Katz von Maccabi Turku (in Finnland) eine Goldmedaille und wird später auch Mitglied von Bar Kochba Berlin.

1933
Mit Hitlers „Machtergreifung“ beginnt das finsterste Kapitel deutscher Geschichte, das im Holocaust mündet. Deutsche Juden werden aus den nichtjüdischen Sportvereinen ausgeschlossen. Der Sitz der Makkabi-Weltorganisation muss nach London verlegt werden.

1935
An der 2. Makkabiade in Tel Aviv nehmen 1350 Sportlerinnen und Sportler aus 28 Ländern teil. Trotz Nazi-Terror reist aus Deutschland die zahlenmäßig stärkste Mannschaft nach „Erez Israel“. Viele davon nutzen die Chance um zu flüchten und bleiben trotz strenge Kontrolle von Seiten der englischen Mandatsmacht in Tel-Aviv.

1936
Die Nationalsozialisten verhindern die Olympiateilnahme der jüdischen Hochspringerin Gretel Bergmann, die vier Wochen vor den Spielen in Berlin mit 1,60 m den Deutschen Rekord eingestellt hatte. 2012 wird die 98-jährige Margaret Lambert-Bergmann in die Hall of Fame des deutschen Sports aufgenommen.

1938
Mit der sogenannten Reichsprogrammnacht wird die jüdische Sportbewegung in Deutschland vorübergehend ausgelöscht. Sechs Millionen Juden, unter ihnen zahlreiche Sporttalente, werden Opfer des nazistischen Rassenwahns.

1945-1951
Eine große Zahl von Schoah Überlebende findet eine vorübergehendes Zuhause in der amerikanischen und französischen Besatzungszone. Der Wunsch und das Bedürfnis nach körperlicher Bewegung, eine “Befreiung von der KZ-Psychose”, veranlasst etablierte Makkabim wie Maximilian Landau, B. Friedman, H. Rosenholz und S. Shapiro zur Gründung von Sportvereinen, die sich unter dem Banner “Mercas HaSport” unter der Leitung von Maximilian Landau zusammenschließen und vor allem in der amerikanischen Zone eine rege Aktivität entfalten.

1961
Fast 20 Jahre nach der Shoah wird der TuS Maccabi Düsseldorf (ehemals SC) wieder gegründet. Weitere lokale Clubs in Frankfurt und München folgen.

1965
Aufnahme der diplomatischen Beziehungen zwischen Israel und der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Neugründung eines jüdischen Sportverbandes unter dem Namen „Makkabi – Jüdischer Turn- und Sportverband in Deutschland e.V.“ in Düsseldorf.

1969
Nach 34 Jahren erstmals wieder Teilnahme einer deutschen Mannschaft an der Makkabiade in Israel.

1972
Palästinensischer Terroranschlag auf die israelische Mannschaft im Olympischen Dorf von München. Ein missglückter Befreiungsversuch kostet elf israelischen Sportlern und einem deutschen Polizisten das Leben. 60.000 Menschen gedenken bei einer Trauerfeier im Olympiastadion der Opfer.

1982
Der EMC-Kongress wird in Düsseldorf, Germany ausgetragen.

2015
Vom 27. Juli bis 05. August 2015, hat es MD mit überwältigendem Stolz erfüllt Gastgeber der 14. European Maccabi Games (EMG) in Berlin zu sein. Zum ersten Mal fanden die EMG in Deutschland statt – genau 70 Jahre nach Ende der Shoah. Als Ausrichter feierte MD im Jahre 2015 ebenfalls sein 50-jähriges Bestehen seit der Wiedergründung nach dem Krieg. Die EMG wurden genau an dem Ort ausgetragen, wo deutschen Juden die Teilnahme an den Olympischen Spielen 1936 verboten wurde – im Berliner Olympiapark. Über 2.000 Athleten, Trainer und Betreuer aus 30 europäischen Ländern, EU-Partnerländern und der ganzen Welt strömten auf das Olympiaparkgelände der Hauptstadt, um nicht nur ihre sportlichen Erfolge durch Edelmetall zu krönen, sondern aus Konkurrenz im Wettkampf Freundschaft entstehen zu lassen – Freundschaft, die weit über Ländergrenzen hinausgeht und bis heute Bestand hat (Friedländer, Gedenkzeremonie. Rede von Margot Friedländer, 2017).

Translate »